London Surf Film Festival - The Winners 2016

The list of winners for the 2016 London Surf / Film Festival just dropped into our inbox. Check out the rundown of awards below and links to clips for all of the videos. We’ll let the director, Demi Taylor take it from here…

“Wave riding is such an ephemeral thing. Each moment and each wave is unique, they can’t be re-ridden. It’s what sets surfing apart and this is exactly the spirit of we wanted to bring out in this year’s festival,” says LS/FF Director Demi Taylor “Our closing gala with the live A/V performance of Chasing Zero from composer CJ Mirra and award winning filmmaker Chris McClean, followed by the 35mm premiere of Forbidden Trim and live set from the Forbidden Trim Band blew everyone away. It really encapsulated the surfing spirit and underscored just how special the communal act of a big screen surf movie experience is.”


London Surf Film Festival - The Winners


  • LS/FF 2016 Best Film presented by Reef: Let’s Be Frank by Peter Hamblin
  • LS/FF 2016 Best Documentary presented by Sharp’s Brewery: Dirty Old Wedge by Tim Burnham
  • LS/FF 2016 Best Cinematography presented by Allpress: View From a Blue Moon by Blake Kueny
  • LS/FF 2016 Viewers Choice presented by Xcel Wetsuits: Chasing Zero by Chris McClean and CJ Mirra
  • LS/FF 2016 Shortie of the Year presented by Reef: Call Me Peg Leg by Josh Hine
  • LS/FF 2016 Shorties Emerging Talent Award: Ella Kite for Ewen, the Organic Surfer
  • LS/FF 2016 Best International Short presented by Magicseaweed: Bruce Gold – Last of the Great Surfing Hippies by Anders Melchior
  • LS/FF 2016 Best British Film presented by Carve: The Road to Galicia by Luke Pilbeam
  • LS/FF 2016 Yeeeeeeew! Factor presented by Approaching Lines: The Zone by Jack Coleman
  • LS/FF 2016 Spirit of the Festival: Forbidden Trim by George Trimm
  • LS/FF 2016 Honorable Mention: Peter Conroy for Mistakes Made are Lessons Learnt

More Posts